Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 28, 2003, 11:47 AM   #1

Default Yet another newbie - I'm the last one, I promise!

I'm a pretty good amateur photographer. For years I used a Canon AT-1 and loved it. Then it broke and can't be fixed (they don't stock parts.) I have tried for a number of years to get it fixed or replace via Ebay, but just haven't been able to do it. In the meantime, I have been using the throw-away cameras - cringe - and I simply cannot bring myself to shoot another roll of photos on one of those.

Now I'm going digital. From spending some time on this site and on dpreview, I am getting schooled in this subject a teeny bit.

Here are my requirements and wishes:

Must have a hot shoe. I cannot tolerate red eye and have found red eye reduction is worthless. Also worthless is fixing the red eye in edit as then my photos don't show the true color of the person's eyes. I do a fair amount of close-ups and my kids have different shades of blue and green eyes. I also hate it when the dog's eyes aren't the right color.

I shoot mainly family photos, which run the gamut - vacations, holidays, indoor, outdoor, kids' sports, snow pictures, you name it.

I need a camera that focuses well in low light. It's only twice a year but I take 4th of July photos and Halloween photos, not to mention all those low light indoor pix. This focus in low light feature is a must for me.

I'm used to focusing with the split image viewfinder. Are there any digi cams that do this? (Why do I doubt it.)

Oh, yes, need a camera that will do automatic everything and manual everything. (Not that I don't trust those auto cameras but I like to be in control.)