Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 9, 2009, 2:51 PM   #1

Default How to use a 1/40000 shutter speed? - Casio EX-F1

I just got a Casio EX-F1 this weekend and I've been playing around for a while. They sell it as able to take shots with a 1/40000 shutter speed however when you try to use that speed, even with ISO 1600 and daylight everything is so dark that it's totally unusable.

I mention 1/40000 because that's the maximum the camera offers, but the problem is still present with 1/20000 and much lower!!

Q1- Is there a way to be able to use that shutter speed and get proper pictures? If there isn't, not really sure at the moment why it's in the camera in the 1st place...

I thought that maybe the problem could be sorted by using the built-in/external flash but if you enable it, then the maximum shutter speed becomes 1/1000.
Q2- I'm a beginner, but is it easy to explain why the shutter speed is limited so much when you enable the flash?

Thanks guys!
spanish_biker79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 10, 2009, 6:04 AM   #2
Administrator

You'll need a higher ISO speed, more light, and a wider aperture. With your camera, the lens is brightest on it's widest end (don't zoom in as much). You'll also need to shoot in manual exposure mode (setting the aperture and shutter speed).

If you try to use a shutter speed that's too fast for the widest available aperture (smaller f/stop numbers), lighting and ISO speed set, you'll get an underexposed (too dark) image.