Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 5, 2009, 9:17 PM   #1

Default New DSLR/Canon XS owner need some advice

Hey Guys,

I am new to the world of DSLR's Ive messed with my friends and liked it a lot so that's why I decided to go with the canon XS.

Now I got a new kit for a good deal so I have the kit lens but I wanted to get a couple other lenses. Namely a walk arround lens with nice zoom and a fisheye lens.

The 2 lenses im considering for my walk arround is the Canon 55-250mm IS IS f/4-5.6 or the Sigma 55-200mm now I am leaning toward the Canon because of the IS but The Sigma is less and I have heard its a good lens for what it is.

For my Fisheye I was thinking about the ZENITAR 16mm f/2.8 because I have heard good things about it but I am open to ther lenses if anyone else had any suggestions

I am really excited to get my camera and can't wait to start shooting.
DSF767 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 5, 2009, 9:28 PM   #2
Super Moderator

the canon 55-250 IS is a very nice telephoto lens for the money and pairs nicely with the 18-55 IS kit lens. I would suggest this lens as it is really a superb value.

i would probably advise against getting a fisheye, as they are fun to play with, but are awfully specialized. i would suggest going with a non-fish ultrawide. canon 10-22 or tokina 11-16 or sigma 10-20 are all good choices. you can always get a fisheye later, but i think you will use the ultra-wide more often as it is the most versatile of the 2.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 6, 2009, 5:02 AM   #3

Yes, the Canon 55-250 IS is an excellent choice, but indications are that Tamron's 55-200 is better than Sigma's, and because Tamron has a $40 rebate until the end of the year, it's cheaper than Sigma's too.

What would you use it for? What do you want to shoot?

Last edited by TCav; Nov 6, 2009 at 8:09 AM. Reason: Corrected reference to Canon lens.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote