Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 20, 2003, 12:39 PM   #1

Default Narrowing down for my first digital

Hi,

Well, Im another one of these which one to buy. But as you surly know, its a jungle out here and as Im new at this its kinda hard to know what to buy.. Anyway, Im in the market to buy a digital camera as its very hard to get good "normal" pictures own my 10-month old boy. The things I want in the camera is 5mp, should be small (pocket size) and it should be easy to use. The ones I have been looking somewhat at is:

* Sony DSC-V1
* Sony DSC-P10 (or P92?)
* Canon Powershot S50
* Olympus C5000

Which one would you recommend or warn against? Which one is the best (if there is something like that). I know there is a price difference and you usually get what you pay for but is it true in these cases? Is there any other you would recommend?

Well, that enough for a start Thanks in advance!!!
matswe is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 20, 2003, 12:53 PM   #2
Administrator

You may want to see my response in this thread concerning the P10.

http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...ic.php?t=16894

As far as your other choices, the Sony DSC-V1 is a very good choice (unlike the DSC-P10, the V1 is Sony's new "Flagship" compact camera, with much more user control, better flash, good noise profiles, and one of the best autofocus systems around). Phil Askey has a good review of this model at http://www.dpreview.com

However, it's not what I would consider to be pocketable (ditto for the rest of the cameras on your list), unless you have large pockets, and I'm not personally fond of it's ergonomics.

I'd take a close look at the new Minolta G500, too. Also, don't go by reviews only. Check out these cameras in person, at a real store. See how each one feels to you (build quality, ergonomics, speed of operation, LCD Display, etc.).
JimC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2003, 1:22 PM   #3