Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 19, 2009, 8:08 PM   #1

Default Sony DSC-F828 Settings help

I take pictures for my High School newspaper and one of the events that I must cover is some of our Home Basketball Games. I'm fairly new with this camera as it was given to me by my uncle who never took pictures in my situation.

I do have a Sony Flash Attachment (Model No. HVL-F32X)

My question is, how should I setup the camera to get clear and decent pictures?

When on automatic, the pictures come out too dark..

I'm usually sitting courtside or a maximum of 5 rows away from the court.
piotrmir is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 20, 2009, 8:28 PM   #2

Please help!! Next game is Wednesday night !!
Old Dec 20, 2009, 8:31 PM   #3

Default Which settings to use for an Indoor Basketball Game - Sony DSC-F828

I take pictures for my High School newspaper and one of the events that I must cover is some of our Home Basketball Games. I'm fairly new with this camera as it was given to me by my uncle who never took pictures in my situation.

I do have a Sony Flash Attachment (Model No. HVL-F32X)

My question is, how should I setup the camera to get clear and decent pictures?

When on automatic, the pictures come out too dark..

I'm usually sitting courtside or a maximum of 5 rows away from the court.
Old Dec 20, 2009, 8:57 PM   #4
Super Moderator

to be quite honest its going to be very difficult to shoot indoor high school basketball with a digicam. at least the action shots.

that really requires a dslr and some fast good lenses.

you can work around this and still get some shots worth printing, by trying to focus on other aspects of the game. get a shot of the team during timeout with the flash. get some shots of star players before and after the game. get some wide-angle shots of the court, and scoreboard shots. tripod could be helpful here.
Hards80 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 20, 2009, 10:14 PM   #5