Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 12, 2010, 11:02 AM   #1

Default Newbie Lens Problem-pics added

I recently decided to change over from the point and Shoot to DSLR. As a complete novice to DSLR's I did some research and purchased a Canon T1i with 55mm lens kit and added the Canon 70-300mm is usm lens. I have been trying to learn about and experiment with it, but am curious as to whether I may have an issue with my 70-300 lens. Inside shots where the flash is used it will take an exceptional good picture with detail beyond my expectations. When trying to take shots outside the quality of shots I have been getting are somewhat disappointing. I have tried settings from full auto to tv/av settings, auto focus and manual focus, but still have not gotten a good quality shot. There is currently snow cover, and the sky has been overcast. I am wondering if this may be due to lighting conditions outside? About the only difference I can determine between the two conditions are lighting and distance of the shot. More than likely this is due to my inexperience, but hope that someone may provide some insight.

Thanks

Last edited by PhrozeN_FisH; Jan 13, 2010 at 11:27 AM.
PhrozeN_FisH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 12, 2010, 11:31 AM   #2

Can you post some examples of shots you're not satisfied with?
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 2:16 PM   #3
Super Moderator

It is likely nothing to worry about and probably a bit of modification to settings will fix things as you have a great lens there. If you can post some samples as TCav says and include any info about the settings used we can try to get to the bottom of things.
Mark1616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 3:42 PM   #4

Were you using auto WB. On overcast days, the auto wb may not work as well then choosing the cloud setting on the T1i.
shoturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2010, 5:36 PM   #5