Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 16, 2010, 10:08 AM   #1

Default Lookin for help with the "Reciprocity Rule"

Composition doesn't seem to be a huge issue with me. Not perfect by any means, but it's not where I need to improve most. As an amateur photographer, I'm trying to pin down mastering exposure control. It's obvious that you can't arbitrarily change dials and controls and expect a great photo. Can anyone recommend any good web resources (be it on Steve's or elsewhere) that can help with nailing down the relationships between ISO, Aperture, and Shuter speed? I'm looking for something that will help my brain process the "rules" faster in the field.

I'm sure you understand there's nothing more frustrating than missing a great shot because you need to do math problems in your head.

Are there any shorcuts I can try to remember as starting points? For example, if I'm shooting at ISO 1600, my shutter speed should be around 1 sec, and aperture around f/12? If I'm completely off base here, please let me know. I'm looking to learn.
fbords is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 16, 2010, 11:04 AM   #2
Administrator

The amount of light you have is missing from that.

Yes, there are some "rules of thumb". But, your camera has a meter to measure light levels. That's what it's for. ;-)

You can't just use any combination of settings you want to. For example, if you try to use a shutter speed that's too fast for the lighting, iso speed and aperture, you'll get an underexposed (too dark) image. If you try to use a shutter speed that's too slow for the lighting, aperture and ISO speed, you'll get an overexposed (too bright) image.

I answered a similar question earlier this morning. So, I'll copy the contents of that post into this one. I probably need to create a sticky with some answers to some of those types of questions.