Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 23, 2003, 5:59 PM   #1

Default Another one confused about jpeg vs tiff / thanks for help

I am an amateur and have been using Nikon N60 in past. Made jump to digital due to a new baby in the family. I currently have a coolpix 5700 (5mp). I would like to get as close to 35mm print quality as possible. I have been getting prints made at Ritz with their ?Frontier machine that prints onto Fuji archival photographic paper (same as for 35mm).

First question (more to follow):

1) For 35mm quality prints (no larger than 5x7), is there a significant advantage to using Tiff vs jpeg. Would an amateur notice higher quality with the tiff images from the camera? (it obviously takes more memory, but in my slow camera, it also takes about 20 sec per tiff using a lexar 24x card) (please note I don't alter my pictures in photoshop or any other program, at this time)
CNSCNS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 23, 2003, 6:46 PM   #2

With the high resolution of your camera and enlarging to no more than 5 x 7, I should think you'd do just fine with high-quality JPEG's, particularly since you aren't doing any editing of the pictures.
bcoultry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2003, 7:22 PM   #3

Default Re: Another one confused about jpeg vs tiff / thanks for he

Quote:
Originally Posted by CNSCNS
I currently have a coolpix 5700 (5mp). I would like to get as close to 35mm print quality as possible.
Printing out 5x7's are going to be no different at 2MP or 5MP.
PrmseKpr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2003, 7:31 PM   #4

CNSCNS

I also have the 5700 and shoot at the fine setting, which is the hight JPEG resolution. I print my own pictures so I can not recommend a photo outlet. I would not use TIFF unless you need to do alot of cropping or printing really large prints.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 23, 2003, 7:47 PM   #5