Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 18, 2010, 1:48 AM   #1

Default Shooting tips for the "blue hour"

Hello guys,

last weekend I've been out the first time trying to shoot some blue hour shots in the morning and the evening, but I'm not so satisfied with the results.

Can you give me some advice for shooting in this special time of day - what shutter speed, f-stop, iso I should use? The only thing I know that the lowest iso would work best...

Also I was wondering on where to focus when I shoot e.g. a few minutes before the sun comes up behind a mountain - should I focus the sky, the mountain or the village lights in the valley? Is it better to use AF or MF?

One last question: Is it possible to set MF to endless/infinite (?) on my 450D with 18-55 IS?

Thank you in advance for your answers - I hope I dont't have too much questions, but I'm still a beginner

Regards,

Markus

2 x EOS 6D | 24/1.4 ART | 35/1.4 ART | 50/1.4 | 85/1.8 | 135/2L
maggo85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 19, 2010, 7:45 AM   #2

Can someone of the mods please move this thread to the "Newbie Help"? I think it would fit better there

Old Jan 19, 2010, 8:51 AM   #3

assuming you want to have the whole scene in focus you should try setting the camera to aperture priority mode then select f16 and focus about 1/3 of the way into the scene and use a tripod and remote release or self timer, because your shutter speed will be very low at those setting at that time of day
kazuya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2010, 10:16 AM   #4

Quote:
Originally Posted by maggo85 View Post
Also I was wondering on where to focus when I shoot e.g. a few minutes before the sun comes up behind a mountain - should I focus the sky, the mountain or the village lights in the valley? Is it better to use AF or MF?

One last question: Is it possible to set MF to endless/infinite (?) on my 450D with 18-55 IS?