Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 3, 2010, 9:46 AM   #1

Default what pixels / photosize

Ok, this is a newbie question, sorry if this is a simple answer I should probably know... but i'm just getting started to take more 'serious' photos and get into photography a bit more, want to learn as much as possible from this great forum..... I just purchased my first decent camera, and in the past I never worried about image sizes, pixels etc, just took the pics, lol, now with a better camera I would like to get the best out of it..... I just want to know what's the best settings for me....

Going thru my image settings I have these options... btw it's a 10.3 megapixel camera.

3648 x 2736(10M)
3264 x 2448(8M)
2592 x 1944(5M)
2048 x 1536(3M)
1600 x 1200(2M)
1280 x 960(1M)
1024 x 768(PC)
640 x 480(VGA)
3648 x 2432(3:2)
3584 x 2016(16:9)
2736 x 2736(1:1)

I understand what megapixels mean, just not sure whats the best quality for certain size photos or just in general.... I always thought and would think higher is better....

Now from what I read on dif reviews, it's not always best to go the highest??? I don't plan on larging any pics bigger than 5x7 or so.... most are just 4x6, but it's always nice to have the option if I want to make some 8x10's etc.... should I go with the 10M?

Do different pixel settings matter for zoom shots compared to close up shots? I take alot of distance zoomed in photos... like sports etc... should I always use the highest settings? And what about for closeups? like flowers etc.... or is it the ISO and shutter speed that matters for the quality and not the pixel size?

btw I'm still learning this camera, so I use Automode as well.. so I dont mess around with ISO and that stuff, I leave it auto for now til I get better understanding all this stuff.