Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 6, 2003, 10:30 AM   #1

Default 3, 4, or 5 mp units

hello all. this is my first post. i guess i am a virgin (lol). i am thinking about the following cameras as my first digital camera.

olympus c-750
olympus c-5000

i like the c-5000 because it has higher resolution than the c-750. however i like the idea of the 10x optical zoom. i am sure most of my shots will be upclose but i like to have the zoom option when needed. how important is the megapixel feature? i don't think i will print larger than 8x10 (but you never know). detail and accuracy will be important to me.

i would also consider the panasonic fz10 with it's 12x optical zoom but i am not hearing great reviews on the unit (your thoughts?). i would consider other suggestions as well.

i am sorry for this long post but i am new to this and i want to make the proper purchase. thanks.
lodingi is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 6, 2003, 2:47 PM   #2

dam. 18 views and no replies? wassup?
Old Dec 6, 2003, 3:20 PM   #3
Administrator

Well, the cameras are quite different. You'll need to decide if you want the extra zoom.

I wouldn't worry about the Megapixels too much. There's not a lot of difference between 4 and 5. Of more importance are things like Lens Quality, Color Accuracy, Noise (similiar to Film Grain), features that allow you to adjust images, camera speed, etc.

Each model with have it's strengths and weaknesses. For example: the Panasonic you mentioned has a stabilized zoom lens.

This can help to prevent blur due to camera shake at higher zoom settings (since even the slightest camera movement can be magnified at higher focal lengths, often requiring a tripod or very good light to allow fast enough shutter speeds to prevent blur).