Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 1, 2010, 7:36 PM   #1

Default How can I educate myself? Any suggestions for online courses, books, etc...

Can you please give me an advise?

I am an extreme newbie when it comes to the art of photography. I am just an average user who owned only P&S cameras all my life with full automatic functions. So, when I read about all the posts and questions about shutter speeds, aperture, exposure, ISO, EV, etc...it all sounds like a new language to me. And I can speak three languages, but this is clearly NOT one of them. LOL.

I have twin toddlers and a full time job, so going to a photography class will not be realistic goal for me since I am so limited for time outside home. (I don't really have much friends/family over here, to come watch the kids over the weekend, so I can take a class or two).

What do you suggest that I do? Which online courses, if any, do you recommend, so i can take the class at my own pace.. I am also in the hunt for a used copy of "The Digital Photography Book" series by Scott Kelby and ordered a used copy of the "Understanding Exposure by Bryan Peterson" from ebay.

I am also trying to read and soak any information I can find on this forum, which has been great. But without having a good understanding and a good foundation of some basic information, I cannot really make much use of all the stuff I am reading here. Unless I am not looking at the right place. I just need something that helps me understand the meaning and relation of these things together (like shutter speeds, aperture, exposure, ISO, EV, etc).

Also, I cannot help but to think, it still would have been better, if I had a chance to take a class for real, like one-on-one with a real person. However, like I said, that option, doesn't seem that possible for me at this point.