Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 19, 2010, 1:09 PM   #1

Default Sigma 10-20mm for my Rebel XT?

I've been shooting with my Canon EOS Rebel XT for a couple years now, and am generally happy with it. But I'm not a huge fan of my lens. It's a Tamron 28-80mm. My old PowerShot A80 takes clearer photos (!), and gives the appearance of having a wider angle.

From the threads here and help from friends, I think I have somewhat of a handle on the focal length factor thing. I believe - please correct me if I'm wrong - that my A80 will go down to what is basically the equivalent of ~38mm and my Rebel ~44.

What I'd like to do is replace the Tamron I always use with a clearer, wider one. With just a bit of a zoom. For less than $400.

I generally take portraits of children and landscapes. When I look at photos on Flickr, it seems the Sigma 10-20mm is the look I love for most things - closer to 10mm for landscapes, at 20mm for portraits. (I see a discussion on Flickr where they say the lens distortion on the Sigma 10-20 isn't good for portraits, nor is the f-stop fast enough. But I simply love the look of most of the portraits on this page: http://www.flickr.com/groups/sigma10...7608216978322/)

If I stuck this lens on my body, I'd end up at 16-32mm, correct? This sounds perfect to me. But I'm having a hard time finding any examples of this lens used on my camera body. Would the distortion be horrible at (the equivalent of) 20mm? Also wondering if there is another, less expensive, option for my needs.

All advice so greatly appreciated!
DandyTrail is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 19, 2010, 5:11 PM   #2