Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 16, 2003, 2:40 PM   #1

Default Fuji A310 vs. Canon PowerShotA70

Hi.

I'm new to the world of digital cameras, and have been reading a lot of reviews from here and other sites. I was pretty much sold on the Canon PowerShot A70, but had also been considering the Fuji A310.

When I went to purchase my camera today, the salesman told me hands down, go with the A310. He seemed quite impressed by Fuji's Super CCD and the claim that you get 6.0 million pixels out of the 3.2mp camera. As I had been considering this camera, I decided to go with his advice and purchase the Fuji.

Just wondering if anyone had any opinions on these two cameras, and if anyone agrees with the salesman that the Fuji is the better of the two. I'm just a little worried that he had some sort of incentive to push Fuji over Canon. I have 30 days to return the camera if I'm not happy, so I'm just trying to get some feedback from some experienced users.

I all ready have a fairly nice 35mm that I still plan on using when I'm doing any serious photography. This digital camera will be more for fun events parties/vacations/etc...

Thanks in advance for any comments or feedback.
marcR is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 17, 2003, 8:36 PM   #2

i also considered the fugi but i ended up with a nikon coopix 3100 and for my first day of shooting its quite cool. with the reviews i have read i would say the Canon A70 is a better camera in terms of picture quality and features. I just got a good price on the Nikon so i got it instead of the Canon.
peter-d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2003, 11:41 AM   #3

Default Re: Fuji A310 vs. Canon PowerShotA70

Quote:
Originally Posted by marcR
He seemed quite impressed by Fuji's Super CCD and the claim that you get 6.0 million pixels out of the 3.2mp camera.