Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Sep 26, 2010, 10:26 AM   #1

Default Focusing

Apologies, this is a bit of a clueless question, but I'm new to camera language and I'm struggling to understand macros and focusing - after reading about a bit I still don't understand and its driving me nuts!

On my FZ45, if its on AF Macro, you can focus easily 1cm away, which isn't great trying to get bugs as they get scared and fly off. You can also focus from about 1/2 a foot away using the zoom to 5 or 6x. If however you want to zoom in really close from 1/2 a foot away and zoom past the 6x it refuses to focus at all. If I look at something say, a metre and a half away though I can zoom right to 24x and it will focus. I get the same thing on P mode also, so I'm guessing its to do with the lense and not the mode. I don't understand though why it can focus on something if you bring the camera right next to it, but can't focus if you're 1/2 a foot away and zoom in. IA mode just throws a general fit on close shots, so I'm doing something wrong on that.

Can anyone explain in v.basic language or point me to an idiots guide to focusing? I really didn't understand what the manual was saying at all!

Whilst I'm on the subject, sorry, but is the macro mode you reach through turning the dial on the top, the same as the macro mode you reach through pressing the AF/AF Macro/MF button? I think I remember someone saying they were different, but I didn't understand what was different. If you know of an idiots guide to macros (complete with basic diagrams for the clueless) that would also be great as I don't understand the different between a macro and a zoomed in normal shot. I know its something to do with it being 1:1 but I don't know what that means and why it makes a difference to the shot...
Samble is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Sep 26, 2010, 5:24 PM   #2