Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Oct 5, 2010, 9:56 PM   #1

Default What setting should I use at Niagara Fall

Hi All,

We are planning to go to Niagara Fall (Canada side) this coming Nov. I would like to use my Pentax K-X (with kit lens 18-55 and 55 to 300) to take some really nice pictures.

Can you give me some suggestion on how I should set up my camera? I know it depends on many things, but just for my general idea since I am new to dslr.

I will be there day time and night time, I am guessing there will be snow.
At night, there will be Fireworks and Christmas night set up.

Please help me. I am so excited about taking these pictures. I am going to take my not so good tripod with me.

It could be a while before I will go back again. So, nice picture would be nice.

Thanks
raylee011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Oct 6, 2010, 2:00 AM   #2

Hi and first of all enjoy your trip. You are right there are a lot of things that will influence the shoots. The good thing is that you have posted early, wha I would do now is start taking lots of shoots in different lighting conditions and look at the results. No substitute for your own experience. You will learn a lot both by your successes and failures.
When composing your shot look at depth of field large f number large dof small f number shallow dof. Shutter speed faster the speed then the more things a frozen in time, ISO the higher it goes the mor noise.
Last have a great trip and take lots of pics before you go it will not be wasted
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 6, 2010, 4:40 AM   #3