Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 17, 2010, 8:03 AM   #1

Default AVC vs. AVI??

I have a device into which I can insert my camera`s memory card, then connect to my TV and supposedly view all my stills and video clips on screen. It works fine with stills, but will not recognise the videos. I`m trying to find out if the camera`s videos are compatible with this device.
The camera is a Sanyo Exacti VPC-CG10, which takes videos to ISO standard MPEG-4 AVC/CH.264. The device should play videos to
MPEG-1/2/4 (MPG,VOB,AVI), DIVX (AVI), XVID (AVI). As I`m totally non - tech regarding this, I`d like to know if the two are compatible or not.
Any help would be appreciated. Thanks.
wilen27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 17, 2010, 11:53 AM   #2

I'm no expert with video (or much of anything else either), but I think you will have to convert the video format in order to use it. There are a number of free transcoding programs available. I tend to look in the MajorGeeks.com website first for this type of thing. There are a number of other places, like C/net, as well.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2010, 2:20 AM   #3

well your camera takes MPEG-4 AVC/CH.264 and your device does not support MPEG-4 AVC
idenny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 18, 2010, 5:05 AM   #4

Example of what looks like a pretty easy program to use: http://www.majorgeeks.com/Freemake_V...ter_d6553.html
I think I will give this one a try myself, as the one I have been using is a bit complicated for my level.

brian
VTphotog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2011, 10:53 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by wilen27 View Post
The camera is a Sanyo Exacti VPC-CG10, which takes videos to ISO standard MPEG-4 AVC/CH.264. The device should play videos to
MPEG-1/2/4 (MPG,VOB,AVI), DIVX (AVI), XVID (AVI). As I`m totally non - tech regarding this, I`d like to know if the two are compatible or not.