Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 25, 2010, 11:27 PM   #1
RAH

Default New here

Hi there everyone I'm new here with a new camera that my brother gave me for Christmas. I have a Pentax K x and I'm so happy with it, the thing is I'm completely new at photography and would just like some tips of where to start my new hobby, from good books to read, what some good lenses are to look for, what to buy next and so on.

Thanks so much. Glad to be here and can't wait to learn
RAH is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 25, 2010, 11:55 PM   #2

RAH-

Your Pentax Kx probably came equipped with the Pentax 18-55mm IS kit lens. In addition to the kit lens, most folks want to add a lens with more zoom. There are two consumer grade lens available that fill that role. The first is the Pentax 50-200mm lens. The second is the Pentax 55-300mm lens. The second, the 55-300mm lens is the better lens of the two.

Being new to photography, one of the better ways to get a good foundation in photography is to take a formal class. Check your local Community College. Most Community Colleges offer digital photography courses at very reasonable rates.

If you prefer to learn on your own, Scott Kelby's The Digital Photography Book series is one of the most popular. There are now 4 books in his series.

Welcome to the Forum.

Sarah Joyce
mtclimber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2010, 1:19 PM   #3

You'll have a great time with your new camera! As far as lenses, I suggest spending some time with the lens(es) that came with the camera. Some people are perfectly happy with one or two lenses, while others almost immediately recognize something they want to do that their kit lens doesn't do. Before you go crazy spending lots of money on equipment, decide what you really want. The nice thing about a dSLR is that the camera will grow with you and you don't have to get everything at once.