Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Dec 28, 2003, 6:33 PM   #1

Default Can you take a decent pic w/o hotshoe?

Hi! I have been playing around with my new A80 for a couple of weeks now. For the most part, I am dissatisfied with two things:

1. Red eye (even on reduction mode)
2. Flash in poor lighting

Of course, it would be great to have good lighting. I've noticed, however, that at parties, functions, etc., the lighting tends to be very poor. Therefore, I get very dark shots. Can anyone suggest some way to get better shots with my camera? I like this camera, but why doesn't it have an optional external flash? I am a newbie and don't want to spend an exorbitant amount of money, as I am just learning. Thanks for any advice...

Amy
amytude is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Dec 28, 2003, 6:53 PM   #2

Amy

There are slave flashes that will improve the flash area but not improved the Red Eye problem. An inexpensive editing software ie Ulead Photoimpact 7 can remove the Red Eye with a few strokes. You can purchase the software off Ebay for around $30. Cheaper than a flash.
gibsonpd3620 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2003, 8:33 PM   #3

I think that this flash is perfect for your camera (and any digicam which doesn’t have a hot shoe) It “leans” how the cam “preflash” and adapts itself. The web site mentions that the kit include a bracket also, but I don’t see any picture of it (you need a bracket to fix it to the camera)

http://www.vivitar.com/Products/Flas...ash.html#DF200

KCan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2003, 9:38 PM   #4

I was just going to ask how you attach one of these. Do you have to have a bracket? Are there any other ways to attach it? The bracket seems very cumbersome. Does the bracket basically screw in the camera like a tripod? Then, do all brackets have a hot shoe?