Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 3, 2004, 1:07 PM   #1

Default 3 MP for Outdoor / Landscape photography?

I'm new to digital cameras, and have done quite a bit of research to this point, but have reached a wall. I've also done quite a bit of reading on this site (as well as others (PCworld, etc.) and I keep finding myself going back in a circle to the Canon A70, which is out of my price range, especially when I factor in the additional mem. card and addl. battery expenses. Therefore it's not an option. Here are my parameters :

I would like to stay under $250.
I would like good auto features (point and shoot), but also some nice manual features when I want to take things up a notch a get a better picture.
I would like it to be compact, I'll be carrying it with me a lot
I need good zoom features, so nothing less than 3x optical
I will need at least an ISO that goes to at least 100 (I noticed that the Fuji A310 sneaks in an ISO with a lowest ISO of 200)
And the "best bang for the buck" so to speak, it's just that my buck doesn't stretch as far as the A70.

Quality is really important to me, I work in the golf course design/ construction business so I'll be taking lots of photos outdoors and they'll need to be clean and crisp. Side note: my wife will be fiddeling with it as well and easy to use will help with her.

These are the cameras I've come across so far...Can someone tell me what seems to be preferrable of these OR if any of these are NOT preferrable OR if there might be something better out there that seems to fit my parameters better??

Kodak Easyshare CX6330 (limited manual options)
Sony DSC-P72 (current sony $30 rebate offer) (limited manual options?)
Pentax Optio 330GS
Olympus D560 (current olympus $20 rebate offer)
Any Others??