Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 6, 2004, 6:10 AM   #1

Default Maintain Exif data

Hi,

I am a complete novice with a new digital camera (IXUS 400).
I have taken pictures, downloaded them and altered them using a variety of packages, (Adobe photoalbum, Arcsoft, Offiuce Picture manager etc). However I would like to be able to copy the pictures back to the camera so I can take the CF card to my local outlet to get prints, rather than having copy them to CD first.
I understand the reason may be because the camera specific EXIF data is removed by the editing/viewing software.
Is there a way to achieve what I want?

Many thanks,

Gerry
gerry.barnett is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2004, 9:24 AM   #2

I could be wrong here, but I don't think you can rewrite photo data from the computer to the camera. I don't know the reason why it can't be done, but I have seen this discussion elsewhere. Perhaps, someone can explain why not or can tell you how to do it if it is possible.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2004, 10:26 AM   #3

Default Re: Maintain Exif data

Quote:
Originally Posted by gerry.barnett
I understand the reason may be because the camera specific EXIF data is removed by the editing/viewing software.
For discussions of this see threads...
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...492&highlight=
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...8486&highlight
http://www.stevesforums.com/phpBB2/v...?p=51203#51203

However, a good photoprinter should be able to print from any jpeg image on the card (with appropriate cropping), provided it's in a file structure his/her computer can read. It may not matter that your camera can't read the file or the exif data.

This can even lead to duplicate prints sometimes, when the camera has a 'preview' display image stored in a separate folder on its card as well as the full resolution image.
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2004, 10:37 AM   #4