Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 7, 2004, 6:09 PM   #1

Default ISO's

Since I am a newbie with digital cameras, I'm not sure how to ask this question, but here goes.

My film camera has ISO 100-800 available to me, with ISO 100 being the clearest speed. I am looking at a Nikon D100 now which starts at ISO 200, but goes way up to ISO 6400. Is the lack of the ISO 100 setting a disadvantage?

My inexperience is showing, but I'd appreciate any discussion of ISO film vs digital.....

Thanks
hangloose is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 7, 2004, 6:48 PM   #2

Hi Hangloose!
I'm probably a little less of a newbie than you, but one just the same . I have the D100 and from my experience with it the ISO 200 is just fine. The pro's might notice a difference between 100 & 200. But to my untrained eye, I can't. Now on to the other end of the spectrum, the ISO also goes to 1600 and I believe you can "push" it thru the camera up to 3200 or 6400. I've never had an occasion to go past 800. My problem is I have to remember to change the ISO when I take night shots and back again when in daylight!! :lol:

Chris
Chrisr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2004, 9:02 PM   #3

The lowest "film speed" setting (ISO number) that is supported by any digicam is the setting that yields the lowest image noise that is possible with that camera. A camera like the D100 will exhibit its highest quality images (lowest noise) at ISO 200. This is good since it means that at the lowest noise level you still get quite respectable light sensitivity.

A lesser quality camera might have its lowest noise sensitivity at ISO 64, which would mean that its best quality images would require longer exposure times, or larger aperature settings (or flash) compared with the D100.

Note however, that the image noise at one camera's lowest ISO setting may still be greater than the image noise of another camera at its lowest ISO setting.