Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 17, 2011, 12:43 PM   #1

Default Does picture quality go down as megapixels go up?

I am a novice at taking pictures, and plan to just use simple point and click cameras for the rest of my life. I don't need hi-res pictures. I never print pictures. In fact, on my current camera, which I think can do 8 megapixels, I have it set to only take 3 MP pictures, since they take up less hard drive space. I am thinking of buying a new camera, and all the newer models seem to be 12 MP or higher. I read somewhere that if you are taking a 3 MP picture, it will be better quality if you have a 3 MP camera, compared to having a 12 MP camera that is set to only do 3 MP pictures. This is because the chip size hasn't increased, or something like that. Is this true?

Thanks for you wisdom!

P.S. I have unrelated question: on newer cameras that have image stabilization, does the IS work for both still pics and movies?
2sassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 17, 2011, 1:18 PM   #2

What matters is where the downsampling happens, and how many times it happens.

If you only ever display your photos on your computer or television, then anything larger than 2 megapixels is a waste. If you have your 8MP camera record 3MP images and display them on a 2MP screen, you'll probably end up with poor image quality. The reason is that the camera doesn't have a lot of processing power, so it probably uses a simple (and not very good) downsampling algorithm. Then you downsample them again when you display them on your computer or TV. The computer probably uses a very good downsampling algorithm, but it's starting with a (poorly) downsampled original, so the result won't be very good. The TV probably has another simple (and not very good) downsampling algorithm, so you'll see a poorly downsampled version of a poorly downsampled image.