Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 21, 2004, 5:59 PM   #1

Default Canon S45 vs. Canon G3

Hey all,

I've been in the market for a digital camera for a while now, and I've narrowed my searches down to the Canon S45 and the Canon G3. Both are a bit pricey, but the G3 is a little more expensive.

G3 is a bit bulky, but I've disregarded size as a variable in my decision. I'm an amateur, but Point-and-Shoot cameras bore me, and I plan on using the camera for semi-"professional" uses. Would it be worth it to pay the extra $$$ for the G3, or is the S45 the better deal?

Thanks for your time folks.
kj_kim323 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 21, 2004, 6:47 PM   #2

Have you looked at the G5? It is the newest of the PowerShot G series. Has the same features of the G3 and more (including megapixels).
RyanH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2004, 6:54 PM   #3

Actually I have, but it is a bit over my price range. Also, I was under the impression that the G3 was still a better deal than the G5.
Old Jan 21, 2004, 6:58 PM   #4

I also noticed that the S45 has a wider aperature range than the G3. Is this anything major enough to warrant any serious considerations?
Old Jan 21, 2004, 9:13 PM   #5
Administrator

Major differences:

G3 has a faster lens (able to gather more light). It's aperture is larger (wider) than the S45, not smaller. Larger Aperture = Smaller F-Stop Rating = Faster Shutter Speeds for the same lighting conditions.

Basically, it's lens is twice as bright at wide angle compared to the S45 (F2.0 is twice as bright as F2.8 ), with even more difference when using zoom. One stop isn't a lot with a film camera, but can make a big difference with digital (since the dynamic range of a digital camera is less). This is very helpful for existing light shooting, since it could use a faster shutter speed for the same lighting conditions and ISO speed.