Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 27, 2004, 7:54 PM   #1

Default Which camera should I buy?

Which Camera (best) fits my criteria? I am an experienced amateur photographer. Recently owned am Olympus C2020 which I was quite happy with until I gave it to my Daughter so I could buy another one grade better. Now I'd like some of those features in a pocket sized or nearly so camera. I'd like 4 or more MPX, at least 3X optical zoom,preferably more zoom. I want an excelent quality lens for the sharpest pictures. From what I read I think the lens must be either Nicon, Canon, Olympus, Zeis. By now you can see I don't know anything about any camera let alone compact or mini digital cameras. Would welcome some advice. What I think I want is. (1) Compact size, Preferably pocket size, at least palm size.(2) Swivel Viewing screen. (3) Hot shoe or sync output for external flash (4) Remote control capability. (5) Good lens for sharp images. (6) 4,or more mpx for better resolution. (7) At least 3X optical zoom, 10 would be great. (8) Better image sensor for best resolution.
Thank you in advance for your indulgence. Gary.
garya is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 27, 2004, 8:50 PM   #2

The longest zoom in a truly pocketable camera is the Pentax 555 at 5X. No remote, flip out screen, or hot shoe.

The smallest digital camera I know of with a hot shoe is the Sony V1. 4X zoom and 5Mp. Probably what a pro would want as a pocket camera although it is probably a little bulky for most pants pockets. Great features and it takes 640 X 480 sound movies rather than the standard and nearly useless 320 X 240. I know you arenít looking for a videocam, but sometimes it is all you have with you.