Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 30, 2004, 4:44 PM   #1

Default Need Help with Image Size

I am a newbie and bought a Canon A400 after getting your recommondations here on this board.

I have taken pictures and when I transfer them onto my computer, they are enourmous when I have them at 100 percent. The Canon software I used to descrease the pictures was crude so I just use photoshop now and that does the job well.

But I wanted to know, is there a way to set your digital camera up where whenever you take a picture and then download it to the computer, that it can always be a smaller image instead of the enourmous image I always get. I just wanted to know if there was a way to take out the step to resize images using photoshop and have the downloaded picture be a smaller size?
Safetyfirst is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 30, 2004, 4:56 PM   #2

That is a function of your viewer. I suggest you download the freeware Irfanview at www.irfanview.com. During installation when you set the associations select “Images only”

The first time you use the program go View>Display options>Fit images to window. They will always open within the screen where you don’t have to scroll. Irfanview makes a much better default viewer than Photoshop. It opens almost instantly and has a lot of nice features.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2004, 9:03 PM   #3
W6

Page 37 in your manual shows how to change

the resolution and compression. Your photos are probably set for 2048X1536

pixels. You can reduce size to 1024X768 or lower. It does not affect the photo quality that much. Good luck .. Just keep reading the manual over and over..

You will get it soon enough.. I'm a new Canon A400 owner also.. Neil:roll:

W6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 23, 2004, 4:23 AM   #4
Baz