Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 4, 2012, 11:15 AM   #1

Default Digital Terminology and How To Use

I was a photographer in the late 60s and early 70s. I knew apertures, shutter speeds, film speeds, light meters and the basic things we used.

Now I have owned several P&S cameras, most recently Optio, DMC TS1 and TS2. Some of my photos were quite acceptable, but many had problems that I could not figure out why. Old farts like me, who knew basic old stuff were not of any help.

For example, many photos had colored pixels in the wrong places. I'll attach a sample. In this case I was zoomed in and may have cropped the photo. I see red and green dots in the bark of dark tree limbs, and it is quite pixelated. I don't remember problems like these 40 years ago.

But, my problem is much larger. I know nothing about using white balance and other features I see on the cameras. The manuals that came with the cameras did not help at all. Can any of you direct me to a place or places, like web sites or books, where I can get simple explanations. I'd rather read than look at slowwww videos.

I'm about to buy a new camera in the $400 to $500 dollar range (better lens and some manual controls), will soon be retired, and would like to learn to use it better than I am currently able to. I'd rather dig in all at once than just wait for a series of articles in a magazine. I'll do that later, after I have a better base of knowledge.

Thanks.
Attached Images

Last edited by access3d; May 4, 2012 at 11:21 AM.
access3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 4, 2012, 1:00 PM   #2

First of all, everything you know from your days with film still applies. There are some new things going on with digital cameras that film isn't capable of, however.