Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 24, 2012, 6:09 PM   #1

Default Point and Shoot outperforming DSLR?

I'm currently working with 2 cameras, a Canon Powershot SD780 IS and a Canon Digital Rebel ds6041. I'm trying to get the most accurate shots possible of my paintings, indoors against a white wall, and I'm finding the PowerShot way better.

Is this right, or am I just not using the Rebel correctly? This is my first time trying a DSLR, and my plan was to take the photos in RAW format, but every shot I take turns out grainy (raw or jpg), with a lot of noise, and completely inaccurate in terms of color. I've been trying this for 2 days on various settings, with a variety of lighting setups.

Now, the PowerShot is probably 6 years newer and has 12.1 MP vs 6.3 I believe, but I'm told I shouldn't worry about MP. I need high-res print quality images for press.

I know I'm pushing the PowerShot to its limit, but I'm not sure about the Rebel. Is the Rebel just too old for the job?

Thanks in advance for the help.
nether is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 24, 2012, 6:53 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by nether View Post
... but I'm told I shouldn't worry about MP.
Quote:
I need high-res print quality images for press.
Huh?

If you need high resolution, a 12MP image will work better than a 6MP image, regardless of which cameras they came from.

Quote:
I know I'm pushing the PowerShot to its limit, but I'm not sure about the Rebel. Is the Rebel just too old for the job?
You haven't really given much information about why the images from the powershot are better than the images from the Rebel (except for the resolution), but it's possible that the Rebel's lens is also not up to what you're trying to do. The previous version of the Canon 18-55 kit lens was not very good, so that could be contributing to the lesser image quality.