Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 25, 2012, 8:17 PM   #1

Default Nikon d5100 Newbie

I'm a Nikon D5100 newbie. I'm always on a ball field with a camera in my hand. This is my first SLR. I upgraded from the Sony Cybershot & having trouble adjusting. I purchases the camera with the standard 18-55 mm lens. I also purchased the 55-200mm lens. I assumed the 55-200mm would be a great lens to capture close up action shots of my daughter on the softball field. She's been playing varsity high school ball since age 13. She's a rising sophomore & will be playing a lot of showcase tournaments this summer. I'm building her portfolio & wanted to capture great action shots.
I tested the camera at a scrimmage game this week and was disappointed with the results. I used the 55-200mm lens & zoomed in the pitcher circle from center field (about 240 ft). The pictures were blurry & distant. The settings were in sports mode with continuos release mode and the ISO was set at 1600.
Do I need to upgrade the lens for a better zoom? Is there a way to still view the action on the LCD when shooting? How do I make the photos sharper.
Please help as I need this camera before next weekend tournament or I'll have to go back to my simple Sony point n shoot.
Tjackson is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 26, 2012, 3:48 AM   #2

Whilst the D5100 isn't the tool of choice for a "Sports Photographer" you should still be able to get some decent shots out of it.
However,you wont get VERY close with the 55-200mm lens- that said,with 16mp on board,you should be able to crop a bit...!
I'm not sure about the AF speed of the said lens- though I would expect it to be reasonable.
Ultimately though- if you feel that you can't get close enough,then yes,you'll need a longer lens.