Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jun 27, 2012, 9:43 PM   #1
crb

Default photography class or self learning help

Contemplating taking a photography class, but I drive a truck for a livibg. I'm from ohio. Are there any good online classes? How about self teaching Boobs? I take decent photo, but I rely too much on auto settings. I want to take spectator photos. I currently have a Canon T3i with 18;-135 lens. I'm planning to buy additional lenses next year, but I would like to get better with the gear I have. I was thinking a class might help to force me our of my comfort zone.
I'm still a newb basically.
crb is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jun 27, 2012, 10:43 PM   #2

Consider Canon's own Resources & Learning on-line training materials.
TCav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 5:32 AM   #3

classes are good to get you to know the basics but a lot of that is available on the web and in magazines. once you you have got the idea of using manual settings then there is no substitute for just taking pictures. you will learn by your successes and failures. with todays modern cameras all the settings used are in the exif data so you look at why it worked or didnt. good luck
wave01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 7:32 AM   #4

I doubt that anyone would say there is only one way to learn, or to say that you shouldn't try several ways. Figure out what works for you and go with it.

To expand a bit on what wave01 said, the EXIF data embedded in each photo is a great aid in learning. You don't have to take notes on camera settings.

Another good way to learn is to go to art galleries showing photos and try to figure out what makes them worth being there.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2012, 8:20 AM   #5

Are you someone who has the self-discipline to take on a learning project on your own and complete it, or do you need the structure of a formal class with teacher?