Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 7, 2004, 4:14 PM   #1

Default Epson 4x6 Printing Problems?

I just received a Epson C84 printer and I can't seem to get it to print a borderless 4x6 correctly. It seems to crop part of the picture on the left or right, thinking this is a probem using Espon's Film Factory software I switched to Photoshop 7 and tried again but it still cut off part of my picture.

If anyone knows a fix please let me know - I'm new to photo printing but it doesn't seem it should be this hard? :?:

Thanks for any info!
jreed is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 7, 2004, 10:21 PM   #2

Default Re: Epson 4x6 Printing Problems?

Quote:
Originally Posted by jreed
I can't seem to get it to print a borderless 4x6 correctly.
If this is an image from your digicam, it probably isn't the same shape as 4x6, so the printer has got to crop it somehow.

Most digicams have an aspect ratio (width:height) of 4:3, like ordinary TV screens and computer monitors. Old-fashioned, steam-powered 35mm film cameras images have a shape in the ratio 3:2, i.e., 6:4. That's why machine photo prints are 6x4.

To get your whole image to print on 6x4 paper, you'll have to shrink it to 5.3 inches x 4 inches, or crop it yourself in an image editor to the right 3:2 shape, and *then* ask for a borderless 6x4 print.
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2004, 1:29 AM   #3

In Photoshop select the crop tool. In the box at the top put 6 inches in the width and 4 inches in the height (or the other way round) with NOTHING in the PPI or resolution box. Then crop the picture – it will let you know what you have to chop off from a 4:3 image to get a 4 X 6. And you can adjust what part you crop. After you have a 4 X 6 it should print borderless.

It is odd the printer would crop the sides unless the image is vertical – you normally lose a little off the top and bottom to go to a 4 X 6 with a horizontal shot.