Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Nov 12, 2012, 5:49 AM   #1

Default Frustrated!

Hello...I probably should have used "frustrated" as my user name, because that describes me when I buy anything new these days!

I've just purchased a Canon SX 500 IS. I purchased after hours of researching and reading all about things I didn't understand, as I'm an amateur photographer. I like to take macro shots, family pictures and love getting good photos of my birds....nothing too complicated!

Has anyone any experience with this camera.....

I have been snapping pics for days and have yet to get a good one. The shaky camera symbol is always there, no matter how still I try to hold the camera. I assume that is why my pics aren't as sharp as I'd like. I'm tempted to just say this camera is faulty, or just not good quality, but I think the problem may be in the hands of the user! Help!!!!

Last edited by SharonC; Nov 13, 2012 at 7:55 AM.
SharonC is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Nov 12, 2012, 7:43 AM   #2

I've just snapped a few random shots...When I got the "shaking camera" symbol, I turned the camera off and tried again from exactly the same position. Symbol disappears but comes back after a couple of shots. Turning off the camera works temporarily...why is that? Here's the photos...I just grabbed what was at hand during breakfast, so excuse the content.
Attached Images

Old Nov 12, 2012, 10:31 AM   #3

I believe the symbol you mention is just telling you that the image stabilization is on, and working.