Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Jan 6, 2013, 4:00 PM   #1

Default New to digital, old to photography

Question! I have a new Canon T3i and I'm new to digital ... kinda. I've owned a Hasselblad 500CM and a bunch of lenses for 30 years and have run my own studio & color lab, so I have a pretty good idea what I'm doing and I rented a digital back for the Hassie (wasn't a great experience). BUT, I have a pc connected flash I want to use with the Canon and I know the flash pc contacts offer about 200 volts not many amps and I don't want to fry my new cam. Everyone is selling hot shoe pc units but don't indicate what voltages they protect. Any advise?
GeezerTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Jan 6, 2013, 4:14 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by GeezerTech View Post
Question! I have a new Canon T3i and I'm new to digital ... kinda. I've owned a Hasselblad 500CM and a bunch of lenses for 30 years and have run my own studio & color lab, so I have a pretty good idea what I'm doing and I rented a digital back for the Hassie (wasn't a great experience). BUT, I have a pc connected flash I want to use with the Canon and I know the flash pc contacts offer about 200 volts not many amps and I don't want to fry my new cam. Everyone is selling hot shoe pc units but don't indicate what voltages they protect. Any advise?
Geezer, HERE IS a thread that may shed some light on the subject.

My Flickr
-Robert-

Hawgwild is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 7, 2013, 8:58 AM   #3

Last I checked the T3I/T4I did not have a PC sync terminal, neither does the 60D Canon dropped it from all the lower end model bodies.
So a PC only flash is not connectable without a separate hotshoe-pc adapter.
Like this one
http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produc...Adapter_1.html
It might get you going, but does not offer any over voltage protection (if they don't specify voltage protection they don't offer any, just pass the full zot through to the camera)