Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 14, 2004, 10:36 PM   #1

Default need some tips on taking pictures......

hello to everyone. im new to the worderful world of digital photography and i need some tips on "what to do and not to do" in taking up pictures. im currently using a minolta dimage f100. thnx for any help or suggestions you guys could give me.

best regards,
kronuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 14, 2004, 11:42 PM   #2

Go to the bookstore or library and pick up an instructional book on photography. Read the book, practice what the book teaches, then come back and ask specific questions that you don't quite understand.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2004, 1:27 AM   #3

If you do a search on "book" on this site, you will hit several topics where we list some good books to learn about photography.

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2004, 8:21 AM   #4

Also visit some art galleries, look at the pictures in magazines, ... and try to think about how those images were captured. Take a lot of pictures, and think about each one before shooting so you learn to avoid things like a telephone pole growing out of your subject's head.

Shoot a lot: keep shooting that boring wall outside your bedroom window until you have an interesting picture of it. It might be shadows cast at a certian time of day, or a rooster at dawn, or the detail of a broken brick, or ....
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2004, 1:40 PM   #5
kex

I bought the National Geographics Photo Guide some weeks ago and it's really interesting!
It tells the reader about general techniques and special photographies, such as portraits, macro and so on.
There are also some really good tips from the really good photographers of national geographics.
kex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2004, 9:30 PM   #6