Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 18, 2004, 9:20 AM   #1

Default Depth of field question

Greetings...I'm a digital camera newbie with 20+ years experience with a Pentax K1000 (manual controlled, film SLR). I read somewhere on the net that aperture setting has no affect on depth of field on a digicam, is this true? If so, anyone want to buy a Canon G5?

BC
Nova Scotia
berniec is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 18, 2004, 9:59 AM   #2

You can read all sorts of things on the net, including incorrect things such as the one you mention. Keep your camera, aperture works the same way in digital as it did with your Pentax. Most of the things you learned with your Pentax carry directly over to the digital world.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2004, 10:15 AM   #3

If your digital camera is not a DSLR it has a small sensor and the DOF is much larger than it would be on a comparable aperture setting and focal length on a 35mm camera. If you bought a DSLR the sensor is still smaller than the 35mm negative and you will get greater DOF, but you can still blur a background like you did with 35mm just not quite as successfully.

As ohenry says, the principle is still the same. The results are a lot different than you are accustomed to though.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2004, 1:55 PM   #4

Most digicams state their focal length in terms of 35mm equiv. That works well for estimating the Field of View, but not for depth of field. The actual focal length is typically about a factor of five smaller than the 35mm equiv, i.e., 50mm equiv is something like 10mm actual focal length. Even with the needed smaller Circle of Confusion to account for a smaller sensor/"film", that means a much larger depth of field for the same field of view.

It is still far from infinite though.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2004, 4:32 PM   #5

Default Re: Depth of field question

Quote: