Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 20, 2004, 1:47 AM   #1

Default Support for standard photo print sizes - 6*4 etc

Hi

I have been using digital cameras for a few years now. Having started with a Kodak DX3600 I just bought a Minolta Z1. The Kodak was a good point and click camera, and we could readily import and print 6*4 (and other standard size) photos with our printer. Now, with the Minolta, we get higher resolution images and many other bells and whistles. However, we are shocked to discover that the camera's pixel resolution settings produce non-standard sized images that require cropping! The resoution choices are:

640*480
1280*960
1600*1200 - which gives 6*4.5 prints - not too convenient.
2048*1536

What we want is 1800*1200 or similar proportions. This enables you to scale directly to stndard print sizes such as 6*4, 5*7 etc.
Why don't Minolta - a leading camera manufacturer - stick to the paper printing conventions - and international picture frame/ photo album sizes???? Have I missed something vital here?

If you have to crop or distort images, then this is a major problem with digital cameras! Can someone shed some light on this issue???

Thanks
Peter
proregan is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 20, 2004, 4:54 AM   #2

There's been lots of previous post under the heading 'Aspect Ratio' which you can search for on this Forum. The pixel formats you list come from the pc world and were specified for 4x3 pc monitors. Aspect ratio incompatibility is cropping up all the time in imaging, including TV.

Remember with 2 1/4" film YOU decided the most suitable aspect and orientation for your shot at the time of shooting, and threw away negative area in post processing.

The problem with digicams at the mo., is it becomes expensive to discard sensor area, because that's the label you are paying for and resolution over the ccd is expensive, impacting throughout the camera design.