Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Feb 28, 2004, 4:46 PM   #1
Kat

Default Buy one that is out now or wait on new comers?

I am totally new to digital. I've used our school's 1.5 Mp Mavica but that's about it. I really want to get one of the 8x-10x optical zoom cameras. Are any of the new ones coming out this spring really that much better than the current crop? I like the notion of a stabilized zoom on the Canon S1 IS, but it is only a 3 Mp. Does it really matter about number of Megapixels? Most pictures that I print will be 5x7 or 4x6 with the occasional larger print (8x10). Non of them are perfect, and all the reviews leave me more confused than I was before. I have always been a strictly point and shoot kind of gal, but it seems like such a good idea to have the option to control things like white balance. :? Also...what is the real deal about ISO equivalents. Some cameras have ISO of 50 which sounds like they should produce really crisp images while other only go down to 200. Do I want to go with one that offers the lowest possible ISO? What details do I REALLY need to factor in for general indoor and outdoor family shots?
Thanks,
Kat
Kat is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Feb 29, 2004, 6:59 PM   #2