Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 3, 2004, 6:50 AM   #1

Default S7000 stability?

Hello!

I am new to digitalcameras and i am thinking about buying the S7000, is it a good beginner cam, when your are thinking about camerashake issues and other newbie stuff?

Have a nice day!!
Selecta is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 3, 2004, 9:36 AM   #2

The only thing that really helps with camera shake is stabilization. There arenít many cameras that have stabilization. Learning good shooting techniques can make a big difference in steadying the camera.

I have two very competent large cameras Ė one with stabilization. And one small pocket camera. I take more pictures with my small camera because it is always with me. My logical conclusion is that if I could have only one camera it would fit in my pocket. I would probably have a Pentax 555 if I could have only one camera.

This review has some comparison shots between the Fuji 7000 and the Pentax 555. Keep in mind that the Pentax has almost the zoom range and will fit in a pocket or purse. Jeff wasnít thrilled with the 6Mp pictures at very high compression the Fuji puts out: http://www.dcresource.com/reviews/fu..._s7000-review/

Some people feel you can steady a large camera better. Iíve always had a small backup and feel I have learned to steady it just as well as my large cameras. Once you press your elbows into your sides and your forehead against the camera it isnít the weight of the camera that is providing the stabilization.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2004, 9:51 AM   #3

Yes its true but when you are seing the picture in the computer "size" so that it fits on the screen then the pictures are almost the same quality. You cant barely see any differens. Then my priority is how the camera feels and other stuff like manual control and shutter speeds. Then the s7000 is rather good in my point.

Sorry for my bad english.

Mikael