Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Aug 24, 2002, 1:02 PM   #1

Default Buying for the 1st time!

HELP
Ok, I am a really Green Newbie. I do not know anything about Digital Cameras.
I have looked at a couple & I have no idea what I'm looking at.

Let me list my needs & see if you guys can come up with the answers.

(1) Going to the Bahamas on a cruise 1st time. So I need something that is really going to capture the moment.

(2) I want to make copies of these pictures (enlarging some) so I need clear pics.

(3) Has to be easy to operate both taking pics & also when it comes time to getting them to my computer. (not a technical person)

(4) Plan on taking alot of photos. (Picture Nut)

(5) Price~~$200-$300 range

(6) Accessories? <--do I need anything special?

(7) and finally my computer--do I have to have anything special to use this camera?

Computer is 56k, amd 1.2ghz cpu, 256 pc133 sd ram Prosavage 32mb AGP Video Card

I know this is a long list, but I need help and I know you guys know alot more than I do...
Thanks!

[Edited on 8-24-2002 by Scarlett]
Scarlett is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Aug 24, 2002, 3:28 PM   #2

I appreciate your greeness and will try to read between the lines a bit to answer your questions.

By "copies" I assume you mean prints. If you want 8x10 prints I suggest you get at least a 2 megapixel camera. 3 megapixels would be nice if you want to make bigger prints or crop before printing to 8x10.

Get a camera with a good optical zoom range. So-called digital zoom is more a marketing feature than something useful. It "zooms" only by sacrificing image quality and/or size.

Get plenty of batteries and I suggest you get a camera that takes generic AA. Don't waste your money on alkaline or litiium AAs, get NiMH rechargable and a fast charger. The Rayovac 1 hour charger is widely available.