Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 9, 2004, 9:23 PM   #1

Default Overexposure

Hello. I just got me a new Canon A80 and very pleased I am with it too. Just a quick question (I hope): I went out shooting earlier to practise - I'm new to all this manual control business; I took a few shots next to a busy road, I wanted to see if I could blur the cars in motion. However, if I set the shutter speed slow enough to do this, even the smallest aperture (f8 on this cam) let in way too much light and the shot was overexposed. I've tried using low ISO settings, chainging the exposure compensation etc but to no avail. How do I get a properly exposed shot with slow shutter speeds in daylight?
paintnothing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 9, 2004, 10:04 PM   #2

Put your camera in Tv (shutter priority) mode. This mode allows you to select the shutter speed you want and the camera will select the correct aperture.

If you want to do it in manual, you need to adjust your shutter speed and aperture to the proper exposure for the given light. You'll need to use your camera's exposure meter and adjust your settings until they meter indicates proper exposure.

EDIT: I misread your message. Didn't see that f/8 was your smallest aperture.
ohenry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2004, 11:02 AM   #3
Zal

Default Re: Overexposure

Quote:
Originally Posted by paintnothing
How do I get a properly exposed shot with slow shutter speeds in daylight?
This is the exact application for neutral density filters. I'm not sure if your A80 can take filters, but if it can, look to pick up an ND4 (2 stop) or ND8 (3 stop) ND filter. They cut the amount of light getting into the lens to allow slow shutters in bright conditions--for things like waterfalls, rivers, traffic, etc..
Zal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 10, 2004, 1:27 PM   #4