Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 12, 2004, 5:46 AM   #1
SG1

Default white pupil problem

I'm a newbie, and I heard of red-eye, but I have white eye problems. How do you get rid of that.
SG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 12, 2004, 7:01 PM   #2

I've had a similar experience where the 'red' eye was actually a sort of green. The canned 'remove red-eye' feature on my software didn't do anything.
Effen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2004, 8:27 PM   #3

Quote:
How do you get rid of that (white eye)?
Post-production (aka digital darkroom). I used Paintshop Pro 5.0 on this one, but any photo editing program should have a paintbrush or spray can, etc. that with a bit of practice gives the same result. If you're going to be doing much photo editing, a graphics tablet is a welcome addition as well.

Norm in Fujino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 12, 2004, 9:02 PM   #4

I find I do better just blowing up an eye until it fills the whole screen and using the airbrush tool. I sample a black (pure black sometimes looks artificial) and fill in the pupil. I try to sample the iris color for the iris. If I canít I invent it, but you have to be subtle. I try to take a sample from the eye of a white also so it doesnít look artificial. It is really quite a bit faster than explaining it. Maybe a minute per eye after you have done it a few times. If you notice the eyes after you do it you overdid the corrections.

Young children often look like something from Poltergeist with a built-in flash. That can be more of a challenge as there isnít much to sample from the iris. Iíve never gotten pure white eyes, but I would just put in some pupil and my best guess for the iris. Make sure to get the flash reflection back in the pupil Ė it is almost always there and looks strange without it.
slipe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 13, 2004, 12:18 AM   #5

Quote:
it is almost always there and looks strange without it