Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 18, 2004, 6:57 PM   #1

Default understandign actual pixels

Hi,
I am fairly new to all this digital stuff and am confused on pixels, or maybe not.... I'm hoping someone can let me know if i understand this correctly.
As I understand it there are basically 2 types of sensors out there that being the standard which is in most cameras and now the new foveon type in the Sigma's.
I understand it that the Sigma (foveon) it has 3.4MP per color totalling 10.2 so in reality what I would really get is 3.4MP of green, red and blue colors.
The other is really just colored filters for lack of a better description over the pixels. By that I mean that out of a set of 6 pixels you have 3 green, 2 red and one blue therefore a 6MP sensor is really producing 3MP green, 2MP blue and 1MP red.

This is why the Sigma images seem to have a lot better clairity as in any given color there are more actual pixels than what would be in a 6MP chip after they are all divied up into seperate colors therefore it would take an 8MP chip to exceed only the color green and still lack in the blue and red?

Am I understanding this correctly?

This leads me to my next question, how does Fuji come up with 12MP using a 6MP chip? Are they doubling up on the greens or something silly like that?
Caveboy_Ken is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 18, 2004, 8:32 PM   #2

Your problem is that there is a difference between a pixel (what appears on your computer screen) and the thing that actually senses the light (which is actually called a photosite.)