Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 22, 2004, 6:48 PM   #1

Default ENTRY LEVEL EDITING SOFTWARE

I'M NEW TO EDITING & HAVE TRIED A TRIAL PACKAGE OF PHOTO BRUSH. I PLAN TO ALSO DO A TRIAL PACKAGE OF PAINT SHOPPRO AS HAS BEEN SUGGESTED.

AMAZON HAS A SALE ON PAINT SHOP PRO 7 FOR $22 WHILE VERSION 8 SELLS FOR $75.

IS IT WORTH THE EXTRA MONEY FOR ME TO GO TO V 8? WHAT ARE THE SIGNIFICAQNT DIFFERENCES. PRESUME I WANT TO DO FAIRLY EXTENSIVE EDITING BUT NOT OF THE NATURE OF PHOTOSHOP 7.

I AVE 700MGHTZ COMPUTER WITH 128 MG OF MEMORY. WILL VERSION 8 BE TOO SLOW FOR ME?

THANKS LOU LEDDA
PAISANO5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 22, 2004, 9:51 PM   #2

First off, you might want to post without the caps lock on. Its harder to read that way.

I've heard good things about paint shop pro. I know some people who really like it.

You might try the less powerful but much cheaper and lighter weight "irfanview". It's a free editor which gets the job done. Check out "www.irfanview.com"

Eric
eric s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2004, 2:04 AM   #3

Default Re: ENTRY LEVEL EDITING SOFTWARE

Quote:
Originally Posted by PAISANO5
AMAZON HAS A SALE ON PAINT SHOP PRO 7 FOR $22 WHILE VERSION 8 SELLS FOR $75.
I am very happy with Paint Shop Pro v7.04. I have quite an old machine (400MHz Pentium II), and I understand PSP8 would be rather slow on my platform.

I should add that PSP7 isn't just entry-level. It's very fully-featured, and is fantastic value at that price. You'll be able to do most things that you could do in Photoshop at many times the price.

Irfanview is free and excellent for global changes to images, but it doesn't have much in the way of drawing tools - e.g., removing unpersons, scratches etc.
Alan T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 23, 2004, 3:24 AM   #4