Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 25, 2004, 2:00 PM   #1

Default Carl Zeiss lens,and blues club pictures

Hi,
I am a beginner to digital cameras,and after about a year decided to purchase the Sony DSC-F717. I will be using this just for everyday shots I would use any camera for...family,parties. I do have one special need I hope it works well in,and two questions.
The first question and need is I bought it for taking pictures in blues clubs. I was wondering if you could suggest how to set up this camera for taking the best possible pictures in that type of environment.
Second question is, when I was showing this camera to two friends,they both said I should buy a lens to protect the Carl Zeiss lens. Does this need to be done? If so, what is needed to protect the lens?
Thank you,
Richard
[email protected]
r-piazza is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 25, 2004, 3:18 PM   #2

Hi - I am also interested in something along these lines.

I currently own and maintain a Denver-based website that provides a documentary of the nightlife scene in Denver.

Recently purchased was a Nikon 5700, and I was curious if anyone had any input as to what kind of settings I should use to take photos in a nightclub setting.

Lights are always flashing, people are always moving, so I find it somewhat difficult to take good photos (this coming from a beginner). I want to capture pictures of people moving without getting trails, and also be able to take wide-angle crowd shots that look great.

Thanks in advance for your help!!
m311b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 26, 2004, 7:13 AM   #3

Default Re: Carl Zeiss lens,and blues club pictures

Quote:
Originally Posted by r-piazza
Second question is, when I was showing this camera to two friends,they both said I should buy a lens to protect the Carl Zeiss lens. Does this need to be done? If so, what is needed to protect the lens?