Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Mar 30, 2004, 1:57 PM   #1

Default How Do I Get My Pic. File Size Small Enough For Emailing??

I just got my Kodak DX 6490 in the mail yesterday. I'm very very new to all this digital camera stuff so please help me. I was taking pics in best mode, which would make them 4 megapixels, and then I loaded them into my computer. I messed around with the easyshare software that comes with the camera, but it doesn't let me do a whole lot. I tried attaching a pic to an email through hotmail and it said that the file size was to big. The kodak software also has an email option, but I can't get it to work. I think I might have to link it in with my outlook or something, but not sure how to do that. I don't even use outlook. I'm very confussed and frustrated. Does this mean that I have to take pics in poor mode in order to send them via email? Or is there a way to make the file size smaller without cropping the pics I already have? When I tried to send it through the kodak software it said that the original image was close to 2 mb i think and it had an option that said it was good for emailing that got it down to .31 mb. Is .31 mb acceptable or do I need to get it smaller than that somehow? I downloaded the trial version of Photoshop Elements yesterday and I would like to start using this software. If I can figure it out then I will buy the full version. Thank you

Jake
jkulysses is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Mar 30, 2004, 2:10 PM   #2

There should be a "convert" option somewhere in the Kodak software that lets you change the resolution size and resave the file. You should save the full resolution images and then save s copy as a 640X480 size which is pretty standard for emailing.