Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 21, 2004, 1:29 PM   #1

Default Kodak 5mp vs 6 mp when enlarging--please help!

I have been using a Sony 3mp for 2 years, but when I crop an image and want to print a 4x6 or 5x7 (and especially 8x10) I loose alot of quality. So I just bought a Kodak 5mp DX4530. I've taken pictures and cropped quite a bit to experiment for the last 2 days, and it is quite a bit better.

However, now I see that in May there will be a 6mp Kodak camera out, and I can still return the 5 and exchange it, but it's $250 more! It's also an SLR, and I don't want that much camera, I just need a point and shoot.

HERE'S MY QUESTION: I know I saw quite a bit of difference in the resolution when cropping and enlarging from 3mp to 5mp, but will I see enough difference in 5mp to 6mp to justify spending so much more? Please help, I've got to decide!
dck696 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 21, 2004, 4:04 PM   #2
Administrator

It takes 4 times the resolution to double the image size (since resolution is composed of width x height). So, the difference between 5 and 6 Megapixels is really very negligible.

Likewise, when cropping, you can't crop as much as you think. If you crop an image so that it appears to be half the size, you only have 1/4 the original resolution.

Are you interpolating your images after cropping? Your problem could be pixelation.

I sometimes crop a 5 Megapixel Image down to around 2 Megapixels, then interpolate back up again before printing. I use a free software package (irfanview) to accomplish this, using the Lanczos setting (Lanczos is one of the available interpolation algorithms).

Of course, interpolating does not add detail (but it does allow larger prints without pixelation).