Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old Apr 29, 2004, 2:53 PM   #1

Default 3mp or 4 mp

Hello!
I am a complete newby in the digital world. Hope someone can help me
I will be taking mostly family pictures, vacations, school plays,...
mostly I'll print them in the normal size but I want to be able to print a4 sometimes aswell. The main thing for me is nice, clear pictures in an easy way.
I'm thinking that with the Nikon coolpix I'm on the right path but I can't decide between the 3 or 4mp. (3200 or the 4200 which will be released shortly) Will there be a big difference in quality? Is it worth spending the extra money for the 4mp?
Is there maybe another camera which you can advise?
Thank you very much for any help!
Ed
ed33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old Apr 29, 2004, 5:15 PM   #2
Administrator

3 Megapixel is the bare minimum for A4 or letter size photo quality prints.

-Steve
steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2004, 5:25 PM   #3

So you mean that I should wait?
Maybe there is another make with the same quality but cheaper mp4 ? Or is it worth spending the extra on a nikon camera?
Thanks!!
Ed
Old Apr 29, 2004, 10:40 PM   #4

Default Re: 3mp or 4 mp

You will find all kinds of opinions about how large you can print with 3Mpixels - Steve is stating the most common opinion. It depends on a things like subject matter, viewing distance, and - most importantly - they eye of the beholder.
Quote:
Originally Posted by ed33
... Will there be a big difference in quality? Is it worth spending the extra money for the 4mp? ...
If all else is equal (it never is), a 4Mp camera will produce a print 15.47% [sqrt(4/3)] larger. Nice to have, but other features - such a lower price - can easily be more important.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2004, 2:33 AM   #5

Thanks! These are the differences exactly:
3mp-4mp;
lcd screen with 80000 pix - 110000 pix;
no iso positions-iso 80->400;