Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 2, 2004, 10:43 AM   #1

Hi there,

I'm an utter photography novice. I have no idea about "exposure" and "iso" settings etc etc.

I've bought a Canon ixus 430 which seems to take very nice distant shots, but when it comes to close ups, it produces nothing but blurry, often unrecognisable images.

Am I to believe that this £300 camera isn't capable of taking such pictures? Or am I simply a complete flid?! yea, the second reason I bet....!

I've tried the "macro" mode which makes a slight difference, but the images are still blurry.
I've been trying to take a picture of a 50p coin filling the whole LCD screen at the highest resolution.

So, is there any advice for me? I'd be ever so grateful!

Cheers

Q
qzamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 2, 2004, 11:05 AM   #2

Qzamir,

How close are these shots?Any idea what focal length and shutter speed you are using on some of these blurry shots?

thanks

mdparker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2004, 2:14 PM   #3

Hi,

I've tried taking the pics from about 5cm to 30cm away.
At 5cm they are absolutely rubbish and barely visible.
At 30 cm, they are clear, but not much of a close up..

The shutter speed is 1".

the iso is set at 50.

And I'm afraid I have no idea about focal length, sorry.

cheers

Q
qzamir is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 2, 2004, 5:24 PM   #4