Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 3, 2004, 7:43 PM   #1

Hi! Im a total newbielooking for a nice camera to shoot some pictures of airplanes, especially during take-off.A friend of mine tried to shoot with his Sony p72 but it was justtoo slow! I am willing to spend up to about 400$.In this pricerange, do I even have achance of catching a bird? I amaware this is not an easy task for any camera, what is your best bet for a camera suited for this?I don't care much for options or megapixels, just a fast point-and-shoot camera. I could live with 3x zoom but more wouldn't hurt!Thank you very much for answers, it's apprechiated.
Jonas is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 6, 2004, 6:08 PM   #2

I would keep my eyes open for a Nikon 5700 as prices drop, with the 8700 replacing it. It takes great shots and with an 8X optical zoom will get the pictures you want. Try and position yourself so the aircraft are coming towards you for the pictures and you should get some good ones.
Jim1957 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 7, 2004, 3:07 PM   #3

Hey! I'm also into aviation photography too. I use the Sony F717. First off--if you'd like, you can learn more about aviation photography at places like www.jetphotos.net/forums or www.airliners.net/discussions. Great place to start. Most of the people there shoot digital, although there are still the occasional few that still use slides.

Anyhow, I recommend a few cameras:

Sony F717 (5x optical, but excellent image quality)

Panasonic FZ10 (12x optical zoom + image stabilization)

Nikon 5700 (Although pictures are somewhat soft at 8x, but still a great camera)

Canon S1 IS (10x optical + image stabilization)

Olympus C-750 (10x optical)

Read the reviews here at Steve's and you can ask more aviation questions on the aviation photo forums at the two websites. I'm a member of JetPhotos.net since it's free.

Good luck! :|

CheckSix is offline   Reply With Quote