Go Back   Steve's Digicams Forums > Digicam Help > Newbie Help

Old May 14, 2004, 11:25 PM   #1

Forgive me I am a newbie. I just ordered a Canon S410 as my first digital camera.

Could someone please explain in general terms about filesize and compression? The S410 has four file sizes the smallest 640x480, the largest2272x1704. It also has 3 compression modes, Superfine, Fine, and Normal.

I know the larger file size records more pixels, takes up more space, and I assume the clarity of the photo is better the larger it is. But for viewing on your computer, I would think 640x480 or 1024x768 would be more ideal so you can view the whole picture on the screen. I want to know how this pertains to printing, as in I took the same picture at all four sizes and then printed a 4x6 print. Am I correct in assuming the larger file size will give the sharper print? ...and then what is the compression modes going to do for my pics?

Is it best to take your pictures at the largest filesize and Superfine compression... print from the native image and then reduce the size for viewing?

If someone could help me understand, I would be very appreciative.

Thanks all, dzaborn
dzaborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old May 15, 2004, 8:19 AM   #2

You are right, the number of pixels and compression depends on what you are going to do with the picture. However, it is often difficult to know that when you set up your camera to shoot. While framing a shot, you might discover that what you thought was a chipmonk in the background is really Big Foot. You will be unhappy if you have your camera set to 640x480 high compression.

Memory is cheap - get lots of it and shoot at the highest-resolution/lowest-compression.

When you put them on the web, downsize them and compress them a bit past the point where you start seeing artifacts - other folks won't be as fussy about your pictures as you are. And us dial-up folks will be much happier.
BillDrew is offline   Reply With Quote